How to ensure safety of Facebook Timeline?

Posted by:

Facebook’s Timeline feature is all set to become mandatory in the coming weeks. It is applicable to all users on the Facebook. When this feature reaches the user’s profile, users will hardly have seven days to change as well as modify their privacy settings. If the user fails to modify their privacy settings, then it will be defaulted by the ones which are set by Facebook.

The detailed instruction is given below

  • Users will have to navigate towards the upper right corner of the screen on the Facebook Page

  • There the users will find a down arrow which they have to click

  • Now the users can set a default level of visibility that they wish to have

  • Then click on the Pull Down Menu

  • Select the Privacy Settings

  • Users will then have to scroll down until they see the second to last item which denotes limiting the audience for viewing the posts published in the past

  • On the right of the specified option, users will be able to see a link titled ‘Manage Past Post Visibility’

How to ensure safety of Facebook Timeline?

  • Now the users will have to click on the title above

  • A pop-up window will now appear

  • On the bottom left corner of the link is another link that denotes a page describing the new privacy controls

  • Users are recommended to read those privacy controls before heading forward

  • Users are advised to do it in a separate tab by means of right clicking on the ‘learn about changing old posts’

  • Once the user is ready, tap the option that denotes limiting the old posts

  • Now the users can see that a confirmation window getting popped up

  • Click Confirm

  • Now the users can ensure that their past timeline posts are visible only to their Friends

  • Then click on Close

Controlling the user’s Default Privacy

  • Select the down arrow again

  • Then click on the Privacy Settings

  • Now the users can see that the main privacy page contains an overall default settings and settings of five other categories in total

  • The categories include

    • Control Your Default Privacy

    • How you connect

    • How tags work

    • Apps and websites

    • Limit the audience for past posts

    • Blocked people and apps

      • Blocked people and apps blocks certain applications as well as people that the user don’t want for accessing the user’s Timeline

      • The ‘How Tags Work’ feature helps the users to decide whether the users want to be able to have prior approval of the user’s Timeline on any photo

      • The ‘Apps and websites’ feature helps the users to adjust their visibility ‘settings for places’ if the user is concerned about check-ins showing up on their Profile

These are some of the ways through which users can ensure safety of Facebook Timeline.


Read More About facebook | timeline | social network | online

Please Wait while comments are loading...
Opinion Poll