How to Activate WhatsApp Calls and 10 Other Tricks You (probably) Didn't Know About

There are millions of users who are using WhatsApp as there main medium of communication. But, how many of us utilize WhatsApp to the fullest?

There are many features which are present in WhatsApp, which we aren't aware of. One example is the latest call feature. Yes! Android users can finally make voice calls on WhatsApp, thanks to a quiet but major update.

The feature has been teased for months, with the update hitting select users a few weeks ago. So if you feel left behind, don't worry, we have jotted down the steps for you, on how to get the Whatsapp calling feature on your smartphone.

Here it is:

Step 1: First of all, update your Whatsapp via Playstore to version 2.12.5 or above, otherwise if you don't get the update you can download the 2.12.7 from here. Then install it.

Step 2: After updating, tell one of your friends, who has the Whatsapp calling feature to call you.

Step 3: You have to receive the call, wait for few seconds, and disconnect it. [Note: Giving missed call wont work]

Step 4: Once the call is disconnected, you will get to see a new tab "calls" in the Whatsapp on your phone.

Recommended Link: Micromax Bolt S300 and Bolt D320 with 3G Launched, Starts From Rs 3,300

Meanwhile, apart from WhatsApp Call, here is a bunch of setting which will actually help you to hide and avail certain features that you haven't seen yet. Do take a look and share your thoughts in the comment box below.

Stay tuned to GizBot for more updates!

If you're using multiple numbers on the same phone, a common issue arises. A user has to provide their actual number, and the number that's synched with WhatsApp, unless you un-install and re-install the app. But, you don't need to do that anymore. There's a setting through which you can change which number is synched to your WhatsApp account.

It's always a problem when media files like images, video clips and audio files automatically download on to your phone, just taking up unnecessary space. However, you can now change your settings so that you can pick and choose which pictures to download.

Both Apple iOS and Android operating systems allow for the time-stamp to be disabled, which means that the person you're messaging can't see when you were last online. They can, however, still see when you're actively online.

This is a question several people have, and the answer is yes, you can lock your app. There are several apps that allow you to lock the messaging service, that are available for Android, iPhone, and BlackBerry users.

You can actually create fake conversations with yourself, through the app WhatSaid. It's an easy-to-use app, that not only allows you to create a fake conversation, but also change your display picture, last seen, and personal settings.

You never have to worry about losing old conversations, WhatsApp has an auto-backup feature, that saves all your chats and also allows you to restore it if you uninstall the app, or get a new phone. You can also decide if you want to manually backup your chats, or auto back them up.

Users who are using WhatsApp can restore old messages which have been deleted. As WhatsApp takes a backup everyday at 4PM.

As of now, anyone who has your number can view your screen name and your profile picture. There's a simple way to grant only the people in your contact list access to your profile picture. You have to change your "profile picture sharing" to "contacts only" in the privacy menu.

Stay tuned to GizBot for more updates!

Please Wait while comments are loading...
Opinion Poll