Facebook Privacy Policy Automatically Signs Up Users To Keep Track Of Activity

A new Facebook privacy policy allows the site to track your activity even after you've left it and the most interesting part of it is, all users have been automatically signed up for it.

The change enables Facebook to gather data from activity across the internet, as well as the normal data it gathers on information you and your friends have added to the site. It also allows the site to pass on that information with its other branches, including Instagram. Facebook does not share data with WhatsApp or vice versa, the company said.

Facebook Privacy Policy Automatically Signs Up Users To Keep Track

The company said in November that the change would come into effect, when it mentioned that it would be implemented on January 30. Facebook says that it showed notifications to users, and sent them emails, informing them that the change was coming into effect.It also ran a seven day comment period, allowing users to discuss the change.

Facebook says that the data used will help personalise advertising and stop users being shown information that they don't want.

Recommended Link: Steve Jobs' biopic set for October release

Users can opt out of some parts of the new policy by customising privacy settings. The site has a special settings page for ads, where users can opt out of advertising that is shown on third party sites or is selected by comparing you with your friends. Adjustments can also be made on mobile devices.

Advertising is key to Facebook's revenues, and drove the surging profits that the company reported last week.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
Opinion Poll