Gmail Offers Support to 6 Indian Languages on Mobile Phones

Posted By:

There is good news for feature phone users in India and across the world, as Google has introduced support for 6 Indian languages in Gmail for feature phones browser. Starting from today Google will be rolling out support for Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Tamil, and Telugu languages for Gmail on the feature phone.

Gmail Offers Support to 6 Indian Languages on Mobile Phones

Ian Hill in a blog post said "Indian culture is diverse, with more than 100 languages and thousands of alphabets used every day. Depending on where you are, you might hear anything from Gujarati to Bengali and Tamil to Urdu. If you're a speaker of these languages and use a feature phone, communicating is about to get a little easier".

Ian Hill predicts that, in the coming future, most people will be experiencing the web for the first through their mobile device. He says it's important for these people to be able to communicate in a language, they know best.

Meanwhile Google Translate which was released for Android platforms back in June 2012, now supports over 60 languages. Also, users can now translate text and speech without a network connection, by downloading offline language packages. Moreover, you can translate vertical texts in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean with your Camera.

Camera input and offline translation are available for Android 2.3 and above. You can download the latest version of Google Translate app for free on Google Play.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
Opinion Poll