Facebook may soon ask you to upload your clear photo for security reasons

Facebook is using a new kind of captcha - a type of challenge-response test used in computing to determine whether or not the user is human - to verify whether a user is a real person or just a bot.

    Security has become the main concern in our digitally connected lives. While many experts are now trying to make the cyber world more secure, to strengthen security for its over two billion users, Facebook is also working on a new feature for its platform.

    Facebook may soon ask you to upload your photo for security

    As such, the social media giant may soon ask its users to upload a photo that clearly shows their face to prove that they are not a bot. According to Wired.com on Wednesday, the social media giant is using a new kind of captcha - a type of challenge-response test used in computing to determine whether or not the user is human - to verify whether a user is a real person or just a bot.

    A screenshot of the identity test shared on Twitter read: "Please upload a photo of yourself that clearly shows your face. We'll check it and then permanently delete it from our servers."

    Facebook may soon ask you to upload your photo for security

    Facebook later confirmed to Wired.com, saying the photo test was intended to "help us catch suspicious activity at various points of interaction on the site, including creating an account, sending Friend requests, setting up ads payments, and creating or editing ads".

    A Facebook spokesperson was quoted as saying that the photo test is one of several methods, both automated and manual, used to detect suspicious activity.

    The process is automated, including identifying suspicious activity and checking the photo. To determine if the account is authentic, Facebook looks at whether the photo is unique, the report said. Further, users were locked out of their accounts while the photo was being verified. A message said: "You Can't Log In Right Now. We'll get in touch with you after we've reviewed your photo. You'll now be logged out of Facebook as a security precaution."

    Facebook users who suspect their account has been compromised can go to Facebook.com/hacked.

    Source: IANS

    Read More About: facebook social media windows news
    India's LARGEST EVER political poll. Have you participated yet?
    Opinion Poll
    X

    Stay updated with latest technology news & gadget reviews - Gizbot

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Gizbot sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Gizbot website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more