Instagram Introduces Caption Warning To Limit Cyberbullying

|

Social media platforms with millions of users often become a medium for trolling and bullying. Facebook-owned Instagram had earlier giving its users the liberty to restrict bullies on the platform. Now, the company has rolled out Instagram Caption Warning, which is an anti-bullying tool from hurtful captions on photos and videos.

Instagram Caption Warning Aims To Curb Cyberbullying

 

Instagram Caption Warning

This is the latest move by Instagram in a series of actions on cyberbullying to deal with hate speech and abusive conduct which can be especially harmful to young users. If users feel someone bullies them with a caption on your photos or videos on Instagram, there will be an immediate flagged notification "This caption looks similar to others that have been reported". Reports say that Instagram is giving the users the option to revise the message or share it anyway.

The Caption Warning feature is trying to give users some protection against bullying and trolling behavior. Instagram is reportedly using Artificial Intelligence that can detect harmful and offensive content on captions, comments, photos, and videos.

Additionally, the social media platform will be limiting people under 18 years of age from viewing posts from celebrity influencers that promote cosmetic surgery and various weight-loss products. According to the Head of Instagram Adam Mosseri, "It's our responsibility to create a safe environment on Instagram."

Instagram Restricts Bullying

The Caption Warning feature is another step by the company to help curb cyberbullying on the platform. Previously, Instagram had released a worldwide feature called 'Restrict'. It allowed users to stop people from bullying them with offensive posts or abusive comments.

Back when the feature was launched, Instagram had explained that once "Restrict is enabled, comments on your posts from a person you have restricted will only be visible to that person." The user can choose to view the comment by selecting 'See Comment'. They can either approve it for everyone to see or delete it or even ignore it.

 

The feature can be accessed by going to Settings > Privacy. It can also be enabled by directly going to the profile of the person you intend to restrict. Plus, the Direct Messages from restricted accounts will automatically move to Message Request and notifications won't appear.

Most Read Articles
Best Mobiles in India

Read More About: news apps instagram

Best Phones

Get Instant News Updates
Enable
x
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Done
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Yes No
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Gizbot sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Gizbot website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more