Twitter Might Remove Inactive Users In December, Sending Warning Emails: Report

|

Twitter is reportedly planning to remove inactive accounts to free usernames from its portal. The social media goliath has started sending warning emails to account holders, reports The Verge. According to the report, if a user is not active for more than six months, then they have to sign in by December 11. Otherwise, the company will remove that account.

Twitter Might Remove Inactive Users In December, Sending Warning Email

 

"As part of our commitment to serve the public conversation, we're working to clean up inactive accounts to present more accurate, credible information people can trust across Twitter. Part of this effort is encouraging people to actively log-in and use Twitter when they register an account, as stated in our inactive accounts policy," a Twitter spokesperson was quoted by The Verge.

However, there is no information that when these usernames will be available for others so that they can grab these usernames. Moreover, the report informed that this procedure will take many months. "We have begun proactive outreach to many accounts who have not logged into Twitter in over six months to inform them that their accounts may be permanently removed due to prolonged inactivity," added Twitter spokesperson.

Meanwhile, the company has accepted that there are many software development kits that are accessing users' data. The firm also pointed out that the data were accessed by these apps on the Google Play Store after users log into those apps. It is worth mentioning that, Twitter intimated that there is no vulnerability in the software. Apart from that, the company has already informed Google and Apple regarding these third-party apps.

To recall, Twitter introduced a new feature where users can hide their replies. Currently, this feature is available on iOS, Twitter Lite, desktop version, and Android. The company is also planning to come up with new features in the coming days. Twitter might also bring a feature where a user can choose who can see the reply.

Most Read Articles
Best Mobiles in India

Read More About: Twitter

Best Phones

Get Instant News Updates
Enable
x
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Done
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Yes No
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Gizbot sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Gizbot website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more