TRENDING ON ONEINDIA
- Rs 100 Coin To Be Introduced Soon — Check It Out
- New Maruti Wagon R 2019 Spy Pics — Looks Bigger And Premium Than The Current Model
- PUBG Mobile Vikendi Snow Map To Release In December
- Central Railway Recovers Whopping Rs 125 Crore From Errant Travellers
- Here's Why You Should Celebrate Christimas The 'Pondicherry Way'
- India vs Australia: 2nd — Aussies Ahead
- Woman Gets Engaged To A Chandelier And Gets A Tattoo Of It
- Alia Bhatt Reveals Why She Looked So Sad With Ranbir Kapoor!
Google is all set to roll out an updated Gmail and the tech giant has already begun notifying some of the G Suite users about the same. As per some reports from the web, it seems like that Google is also working on a Confidential Mode which is said to bring the self-destructing emails along with some other privacy-focused changes.
The report further suggests that the Confidential Mode is said to allow the users to send self-destructing emails which can be set to prevent the recipient from downloading, forwarding, printing or even copying email content.
The new version of Gmail will also show a lock icon which would be placed in the compose box in order to activate the Confidential Mode. A user can set the expiration date for the email following which the mail would be deleted at the time set by the user. The Confidential Mode further prohibits the emails to be copied, printed or forwarded.
However there is a catch, a recipient can still screenshot the mail and can use it as per his/her convenience. Also, there might be other tools available in the market using which a user can record the email that they have received.
Further, Gmail will also ask the recipient to punch in an SMS passcode in order to confirm their identity, before the recipient is being allowed to see the email. Also, on the recipient end, Gmail will show the content of confidential emails as a link which will verify a user's identity before showing the email content.
It is being speculated that Google is not deleting any emails, instead, it is simply destroying the go-between links so that the content can't be read. The new feature is similar to that of Outlook's email forward prevention functionality which was announced for Office 365. It is still not clear whether the Gmail service users will be able to send the confidential/self-destructing emails to the other email platforms or not.