Facebook's new feature enables bulk removal of apps

Up until now, users had to app-by-app in order to remove them which was very time consuming.

    Facebook recently found itself in hot water after the company's CEO Mark Zuckerberg admitted that the social media platform had shared data with British consultancy firm Cambridge Analytica. Since then the company has been facing a lot of flak from people across the world. To Facebook's dismay, the hashtag #DeleteFacebook was trending online for a while.

    Facebook's new feature enables bulk removal of apps

     

    However, Facebook has also been trying its best to control the damage and emerge out of the crisis. It has now quietly added a new tool to its platform which lets users remove third-party apps and all the posts made by those apps at once. First spotted by Matt Navarra, the company has confirmed this bulk removal feature to TechCrunch.

    Thanks to this feature, you can now go the Apps section of their Facebook settings and then click on any number of third-party apps. You will get a remove option at the top of the screen to delete those apps. You will also be shown a prompt to delete all posts those apps may have posted on your timeline. Prior to the change, users had to app-by-app in order to remove them which was very time consuming.

    Besides this, Facebook has announced that it will now remove apps automatically if a user hasn't accessed them in more than three months. A company spokesperson has said that this is just the beginning and they will roll out more tools in future to protect the privacy of the users.

    Late last month, the social network giant had also made a major change in the design and layout of its settings section. Unlike the previous settings menu which had around 17 different options marked with a short title, the new 'Settings' menu is a single page menu with all the tools and settings located under one banner making it easier for the user to locate them.

     

    Facebook further added a new Privacy Shortcut menu to its platform. The new shortcut allows a user to manage their account's privacy settings conveniently without making much effort. Moreover, there's another new feature called 'Access Your Information'. With this feature users can check or delete their recent social media activities as well as any personal data they have shared on the platform.

    Read More About: facebook social media news
    Opinion Poll
    X

    Stay updated with latest technology news & gadget reviews - Gizbot

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Gizbot sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Gizbot website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more