Share your Location During Emergency with Google's New Trusted Contacts App

The idea behind Trusted Contacts app is that it will allow users to locate or be located and communicate with friends and family.

    Google has created a new app which has been dubbed as Trusted Contacts that can automatically share your status and location with your friends or loved ones.

    In essence, Google has described it as a personal safety app that opens a direct line of sharing between you and your loved ones.

    Share your Location During Emergency with Google's New App

    SEE ALSO: Google Assistant on Allo App Now Understands and Speaks Hindi

    So, whether you're online or offline, in an emergency or just need reassurance, Trusted Contacts app promises to help the users connect with the people they care about the most or at times when they need them the most. Especially, it could be of great help during the time of crisis or any emergency.

    Basically, the whole idea behind Trusted Contacts is that it will allow users to locate or be located and communicate with friends and family. It looks to provide loved ones some peace of mind.

    The Working Mechanism

    Once you install the Android app, you can assign "trusted" status to your closest friends and family. Your trusted contacts will be able to see your activity status whether your moving around recently and are online just to quickly know if you're "OK".

    The app's sharing feature lets you share your actual location with your trusted contacts. And if your trusted contacts are really worried about you, they can request to see your location.

    If everything's fine, you can deny the request. But if you're unable to respond within a reasonable time-frame, your location will be shared automatically and your loved ones can determine the best way to help you out.

    Virtual Companion

    Alternatively, the app can be used as a virtual companion. So if you are travelling, you can use the app to share your route with a trusted contact so they can track your ride and make sure you made it safely to your destination.

    When your journey is over, you can just push the button on the lock screen or at the top of the screen to stop sharing.

    SEE ALSO: Rejoice Gamers: Cash on Delivery Now Available while Buying PC Games Online

    Double-edged Sword

    Although Trusted Contacts has been designed to be a personal safety app, as with any location-sharing feature like this, privacy can come into play as well.

    Jealous boyfriends, abusive spouses, or nosey friends can spy on your whereabouts at all times if you leave the app passively running in the background. Well, it's up to you to carefully choose who you want keeping track of your location.

    The Trusted Contacts app is available on the Play Store for Android users and will soon be available on iOS devices as well.

    Click Here for New Smartphones Best Online Deals

    Read More About: google windows news
    X

    Stay updated with latest technology news & gadget reviews - Gizbot

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Gizbot sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Gizbot website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more