Facebook 'unfriend' App might steal your Data

By: Gizbot Bureau

Be careful while downloading apps as some of them may steal your data, say experts.

Facebook 'unfriend' App might steal your Data

Recently, an app, Unfriend Alert - that alerts you when someone "unfreinds" you on Facebook - has been found to be collecting users' Facebook data, Betanews.com reported.

Recommended: Top 10 Best High-End Android Lollipop Smartphones Available in June 2015

The app is free and notifies you whenever someone removes you from the Facebook friend list. But it asks for your sign in and password.

"Looking at a Wireshark log for this check however shows that the login credentials are not sent directly to Facebook but to yougotunfriended.com," security firm MalwareBytes said.

Facebook 'unfriend' App might steal your Data

The app also displays ads and can install malicious software on the user's computer.

What's more worrisome is that it doesn't show up in the apps list on Facebook. So you can easily forget that it is there and monitoring your activities.

SEE ALSO: 20 Best Mid-range Smartphones Between Rs 10,000 to Rs 25,000

Expert recommend removing the app and changing your password.

There have been other apps in the market that alert the users when a Facebook friend ditches them, but this new app seems to be designed to steal passwords.

Source: IANS

Read More About facebook | App | apps | news

Please Wait while comments are loading...
Opinion Poll