Facebook dragged to court again; three users file a lawsuit

Facebook sued by three users over data leak scandal.

|

Facebook, shortly after the Cambridge Analytica revelations, was hit by another controversy. The social media giant reportedly collect all text and call data of the Android users. Although the company did this legally using Google Android's permission, still not everyone agreed on making peace with it. Adding to the whole fiasco, now three users have decided to drag the company to court. The lawsuit was filed at a federal court in California's Northern District. Facebook is yet to comment on the matter.

Facebook dragged to court again; three users file a lawsuit

The controversy
 

The controversy

Facebook users on Android found out that the social media giant collected their personal data such as contact numbers and text messages from their phones. According to a report from arsTECHNICA, users found years of call history, contacts and text messages scraped away.

Users can turn off the data collection from the settings menu, and all the previously accumulated call and text history will be deleted from the servers, Facebook said. The feature was introduced on Facebook Messenger in 2015 and was added to Facebook Lite later.

The reason

The reason

The company in response to the reports said that the call and SMS data was uploaded to secure servers and come only from Android users who opt to allow the sync of data. The company also emphasized that the data is collected in order "to improve people's experience across Facebook," and is not shared or sold with other third-party apps. The company claims that it doesn't collect the content of the text messages or calls.

Dell XPS 13 (2018) laptop review - GIZBOT
Company's response
 

Company's response

"Call and text history logging is part of an opt-in feature for people using Messenger or Facebook Lite on Android. This helps you find and stay connected with the people you care about and provide you with a better experience across Facebook. People have to expressly agree to use this feature. If, at any time, they no longer wish to use this feature they can turn it off in settings, or here for Facebook Lite users, and all previously shared call and text history shared via that app is deleted. While we receive certain permissions from Android, uploading this information has always been opt-in only," a Facebook spokesperson stated in a blog post.

Most Read Articles
Best Mobiles in India

Best Phones

Get Instant News Updates
Enable
x
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Done
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Yes No
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Gizbot sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Gizbot website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more
X