Facebook to soon let you delete messages sent by mistake

While Facebook has revealed that it is indeed working on the 'Unsend' feature, it has not described how would the feature work.

By Chandrika Jana

    Facebook may soon add a feature we have been waiting for. We have come across report suggesting that Mark Zuckerberg and other executives of the company deleted messages that were sent to some users. Of course, users don't the have the ability to do so yet, but it seems like things are about to change.

    Facebook to soon let you delete messages sent by mistake

    Facebook admitted to Tech Crunch that it had deleted some messages after the publication showed some email receipts as proof. The social network giant says, after Sony's emails were hacked in 2014, the company set up "a number of changes to protect our executive's communications. These included limited the retention period for Mark's messages in Messenger. We did so in full compliance with our legal obligations to preserve messages".

    While Facebook has revealed that it is indeed working on the 'Unsend' feature, it has not described how would the feature work. For those who are not aware, there is an existing feature that allows users to set messages to delete themselves after a certain period of time. However, this feature is only works for a conversation if it started in "Secret conversation".

    It is worth mentioning that Zuckerberg and other executives messages from regular, private conversations, which left the users baffled. Presumably, the feature is still in testing and more changes will be added to the final version. At the moment, we don't know when exactly this feature will make it to Facebook. In any case, we are pretty excited for it.

    WhatsApp, which is currently owned by Facebook, last year added the "Delete For Everyone" feature. Earlier, users had to delete the unintended messages within seven minutes from sending them. Since users were not happy with the time limit, the deadline has been extended. WhatsApp now gives users more than one hour to delete the messages sent by mistake.

    Nokia 8 Sirocco, Nokia 7 Plus and Nokia 6 First Impressions

    Presumably, users on Facebook usrs will also be given a limited time to delete the messages sent by mistake. This is developing story and we will provide you with new updates as soon as we get them.

    Read More About: facebook social media news
    Opinion Poll
    X

    Stay updated with latest technology news & gadget reviews - Gizbot

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Gizbot sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Gizbot website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more