TRENDING ON ONEINDIA
- 'Sab Ghungroo Bandhke Taiyar Ho Gaye': Modi's Barb At Opposition Over PM Candidate
- IPL 2019: RCB vs KXIP — Preview
- Five Avengers Endgame Theories That Will Make You Go Bonkers
- Triumph Speed Twin Launched In India At Rs 9.46 lakh
- Arjun Announces GF Gabriella Demetriades's Pregnancy!
- SEBI Blocks Hotel Leelaventure From Selling Hotels And Properties To Brookfield
- Kajol Amazes In This Sari
- Rourkela: A Weekend Getaway
You can now delete unintended messages on WhatsApp with ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature
You can only delete the messages within seven minutes of sending it.
At least once in our life, we have regretted the texts sent in a drunken stupor. Unfortunately, when you realize the mistake, it is too late as there is no way to unsend the texts.
Well, not anymore! WhatsApp has finally added the Delete For Everyone feature, which allows you to delete messages in private chats or group conversation. The instant messaging platform had been working on this feature for quite some time, and now it is rolling out to iOS, Android and Windows Phone users. As reported by WABetaInfo, to use this feature both the sender and the receiver have to be on the latest WhatsApp version.
As is often the case, the Delete For Everyone feature is being rolled out in phases, so you might have to wait a while before you get a notification for the update. Not only text messages, you can also delete unintended images, videos, GIFs, voice messages, contact cards, files, location, quoted messages, and status replies.
So when you delete the unintended message, the recipient gets a fake copy of that message. Even after receiving the message, their device won't show any notification and the message won't get saved in the chat history. However, if the ID of the message is present in WhatsApp's database, it will be revoked.
iOS users wouldn't get notified about the revoked or recalled messages. Android users, however, will get a notification stating, "This message was deleted for everyone".
Although the 'Delete for Everyone' feature was much-awaited, you have to keep something in mind while using it. You can only delete the messages within seven minutes of sending it. Make sure you don't cross the time limit!