Many of you wouldn't have thought what happens after your death as you are still young. Well, though it may sound weird, it is not bad to think of the same when you are alive.
It is for this reason that people write their will and testament for their assets. But, apart from your assets, you need to think what will happen to your Facebook account once you die.
Did you ever know that there is a section on Facebook settings for those who wish their account to continue even if they are no more? In case, you don't change the settings in advance, it is up to your family members and friends to have your account deleted or memorialized using a Legacy Contact.
Check what can be done to your Facebook account after your death from here.
Delete it or choose Memorial Mode
You can navigate to Settings → Privacy → Legacy Contact. Here is an option to delete your account permanently after your death. Once Facebook is notified of your death, and confirms the same with the necessary documentation, the account will be deleted permanently.
The other option is to run it on memorial mode. Your page will no be visible to public revealing your birthday reminders, ads, etc. But, it can be viewed by friends and they can post nice things about you.
Choose a Legacy Contact
If you opted for the Memorial Mode, you can choose Legacy Contact as the person will run the memorial. Maybe, the executor of your will can be chosen for the purpose. The Legacy Contact cannot log into your Facebook account, but he or she look after the final digital resting place.
The person can pin a post to your profile such as a final message or give info about the memorial service, respond to friend requests, and update the cover photo and profile photo.
Legacy Contact gets an auto-generated message
Your Legacy Contact will get an auto-generated message from Facebook once you select the person. It could be a little upsetting to see such a message in the inbox. So, might have to let them know your choice in advance.