A recent internet movement #DeleteFacebook is creating a buzz. The campaign is fueled by those who are making quite a big show as they are deleting their Facebook accounts. This movement started growing due to the data leak scandal, which has hit Facebook accusing it to be sharing user information with third-party services.
Not everyone would like to delete their Facebook profiles. But it is common for users to be concerned about their privacy and think of taking steps to tighten their data security. This will prevent future chances of Facebook data leak. The good news for such users is that the platform has already taken such measures.
Here, we have come up with some changes you need to make to your Facebook privacy settings. Take a look at the same from here.
Deny apps from accessing your account
When you are logged into Facebook, go to Settings → Apps. This page will show you a list of apps, which you have approved. These apps were granted access to your Facebook data. You might need some of these apps that gain access to your information. If there are apps those you will not use anymore, then you can deny access to your data by hitting the X option next to the app's image.
Notably, all apps will not access the same information as the others. If you are worried that any app is accessing too much of your details, then you can hit the Pencil icon next to the app. This move will open a pop-up box, which will give you the control of removing some types of access such as work history, photos, etc.
Deny friends' apps from accessing your data
On scrolling down the Apps settings page, you can find a box named Apps Others Use. When any of your friends grant you access to an app, then remember that the app will access some of your details. The company has reduced the amount of access of friends' apps greatly but there are many available to these apps. If you do not want these apps to access your Facebook data, you need to feel free to uncheck everything. Remember that this move will not let you join when your friends using the same app will stay connected.
Lock your profile
Apart from granting and denying access to the apps, the social network lets you lock down your privacy settings so that even if you appear in search results (prevent others searching for your profile), your data such as profile picture, pages you liked and friends list will not be revealed to others.